Second Day of Easter: Monday in Easter Week   10 comments

Chi Ro with Roman Soldiers

“Do not be afraid.”

April 2, 2018

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Acts 2:14, 22b-32 (New Revised Standard Version):

But Peter, standing with the eleven, raised his voice and addressed them,

Men of Judea and all who live in Jerusalem, let this be known to you, and listen to what I say….Jesus of Nazareth, a man attested to you by God with deeds of power, wonders, and signs that God through him among you, as you yourselves know–this man, handed over to you according to the definitive plan and foreknowledge of God, you crucified and killed by the hands of those outside the law.  But God raised him up, having freed him from death, because it was impossible for him to be held in its power.  For David says concerning him,

‘I saw the Lord always before me,

for he is at my right hand so that I will not be shaken;

therefore my heart was glad, and my tongue rejoiced;

moreover my flesh will live in hope.

For you will not abandon my soul to Hades,

or let your Holy One experience corruption.

You have made known to me the ways of life;

you will make known to me the ways of life;

you will make me full of gladness with your presence.’

Fellow Israelites, I may say to you confidently of our ancestor David that he both died and was buried, and his tomb is with us to this day.  Since he was a prophet, he knew that God had sworn with an oath to him that he would put one of his descendants on his throne.  Foreseeing this, David spoke of the resurrection of the Messiah, saying,

‘He was not abandoned to Hades,

nor did his flesh experience corruption.’

This Jesus God raised up, and of that all of us are witnesses….

Psalm 16:8-11 (New Revised Standard Version):

I keep the LORD always before me;

because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my soul rejoices;

my body also rests secure.

For you do not give me up to Sheol,

or let your faithful one see the Pit.

You show me the path of life.

In your presence there is fullness of joy;

in your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Matthew 28:9-15 (New Revised Standard Version):

Suddenly [after the women left the empty tomb] Jesus met them [the women] and said,

Greetings!

And they came to him, took hold of his feet, and worshiped him.  Then Jesus said to them,

Do not be afraid; go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee; there they will see me.

The Collect:

Grant, we pray, Almighty God, that we who celebrate with awe the Paschal feast may be found worthy to attain to everlasting joys; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever.  Amen.

+++++++++++

“Do not be afraid,” Jesus said.  And why should the women have feared after that? Jesus, executed just a few days previously, was alive again.

“Do not be afraid.”  Nobody can do anything God cannot reverse.  If we are on God’s side, we can never really lose.  Many people have become martyrs, but they have gone to be with God.  And history teaches that attempts to quell the growth of Christianity by making people martyrs usually result in a larger church in time.  An old saying:  “The blood of the martyrs waters the church.”

“Do not be afraid.”  God will win, regardless of what we mere mortals do.  Thanks be to God!

KRT

Published originally at SUNDRY THOUGHTS OF KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR on April 3, 2010

http://blogatheologica.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/do-not-be-afraid/

Leave a Reply

