Thank You For Visiting This Weblog   Leave a comment

Above:  Part of My Biblical Studies Library, June 14, 2017

Photograph by Kenneth Randolph Taylor

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have been writing based on David Ackerman‘s Beyond the Lectionary:  A Year of Alternatives to the Revised Common Lectionary (2013).  Along the way I have noticed him gravitating toward “texts of terror” the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL) avoids.  I have also noticed that Ackerman has skirted certain “texts of terror” by, for example, assigning certain verses of a psalm and avoiding the unpleasant and difficult portions of that text.  At least he does better than the RCL does with regard to difficult passages.  Nevertheless, I, having drafted posts for all of Ackerman’s plan and published only through Pentecost, conclude that Year D (Timothy Matthew Slemmons, 2012) is the superior supplementary lectionary.

When I write devotions, I make certain assumptions regarding my audience.  I do not, for example, explain everything again and again, from my perspective, for I have been writing devotions and publishing them at weblogs for years.   I do, therefore, leave certain matters unexplained in posts because, quite frankly, explaining something for many times becomes tiring to me quickly.  I do not want to explain something for fifty or more times across a sequence of posts.  I wind up, therefore, assuming that the readers either have certain knowledge or might think to use the search bar or click on tags.  The most basic assumption I make, however, is that the reader reads the assigned portions of scripture prior to reading my text.

I have organized the weblog for ease of finding material:

  1. I have added the search bar widget.
  2. I have tagged posts.
  3. I have created guide posts, complete with links to posts per date.
  4. I have created self-explanatory categories.

Links to the guide posts follow:

  1. February
  2. March
  3. April
  4. May

May something you, O reader, find here bless you richly.

Peace!

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

JUNE 14, 2017 COMMON ERA

THE FEAST OF SAINT METHODIUS I OF CONSTANTINOPLE, PATRIARCH

THE FEAST OF DOROTHY FRANCES BLOMFIELD GURNEY, ENGLISH POET AND HYMN WRITER

THE FEAST OF HANS ADOLF BRORSON, DANISH LUTHERAN BISHOP, HYMN WRITER, AND HYMN TRANSLATOR

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Posted June 14, 2017 by neatnik2009 in 2018

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

